Dropbox, the darling of the online storage industry (and my personal choice for online storage), has announced some significant changes to it’s online storage service. Pro members ($9.99 / month for those of you who are unaware) are now being upgraded from 100 GB of storage to 1 Terabyte (1,000 GB) of storage for the same cost.
Dropbox is also introducing some additional features such as:
New and improved sharing controls
The ability to collaborate easily is one of the reasons people choose Dropbox Pro, but there’s always been room for improvement and Dropbox has listened to their customers by implementing more control over sharing with the following new capabilities:
- Passwords for shared links create an additional layer of security so only people with the password can access your link.
- Expirations for shared links safeguard your sensitive files by letting you set how long your links stay up.
- View-only permissions for shared folders let you pick whether recipients can edit or just view files within your shared folder.
Lost your device? Now you can safeguard your Dropbox data.
Remote wipe lets you delete your Dropbox files from a lost or stolen device without damaging your Dropbox data. This is handy for those occassions where you lose a laptop or device that has synced data via Dropbox and you want to ensure it’s not compromised.
So, in addition to the awesome 10x the extra space upgrade that they are giving pro users, you now get these other awesome features as well. For those of you wondering where your additional space is, according to the email from Dropbox, it will update automatically to reflect the space increase in the next couple days. You don’t have to do a thing.
Visit www.dropbox.com/pro to sign up.